二身之内,其心一而已❤️

“友之与我,虽有二身,二身之内,其心一而已。”

I love this quote from the bottom of my heart. It only has 17 words. Yet these 17 words can precisely delineate our serendipity and our emotions towards each other. I’ve never encountered other descriptions so perfect and so touching.

I met Sumin in fall semester of Sophomore year. It was the hell semester for me since I was majoring in IRGB back then and had to take one accounting class and one macroeconomics class. Meanwhile, my first ex broke up with me due to trust issues. I had to depend on myself and cut off my social connections with others so I would not spread the depressing feelings to people around me. And that was when I first met Sumin, the girl that feels like the ocean to me. She was so calm and so thoughtful. I was amazed by her curiosity and her comprehensive thinking procedure. Her eyes were so attractive that reminded me of the sea, so calm on the surface but actually contains lots of waves deeper in the body of water. I remember how pretty and well-behaved she is. As soon as my eyes landed on her, I was so mesmerized and really want to be close to her. She was so glamorous and mysterious at the same time, and I want to walk into this myth and try to unfold it.

We met at Cafe 84, which was replaced by a Starbucks… Our first conversation was about US elections that was going to happen in November. It was so funny looking back that our first conversation was about politics. Since our majors are both IR, politics is like our masks, and we want others to first look at our rational parts. Never had we talked about literature, movies, and music in that conversation. However, that did not prevent us from having deep conversations about humanities in later years. I was thinking that this girl is so amazing because she has the courage to break apart with her comfort zone, and she wants to try new things. This feature is something that I always miss. I am so afraid of meeting with new people and showing my vulnerabilities to others. I hate acting like perfect and let others down as time passes. I was deeply attracted by this feature. I want to know more.

So we began to interact with each other again in IR 341, one of the hardest courses for our major. It was rough, so rough… I remember relying on her a lot for everything. That’s what makes me feel guilty all the time. I remember printing my stuff at the last minute and asked: “Sumin, can I borrow your glue stick for real quick?” However, the glue stick was so powerful that actually glue us together and strengthened our bond. The Chinese saying goes: 同甘共苦 (experience the sweetness and taste the bitter together). It is really easy for people to share their happiness, but it is so hard to experience the hardship together. We were so blessed to go through that rough path together, and it was the roughness that makes us closer and closer. I remember the night when she exposed her past to me at Cafe 84 in 2am in the morning, and all I can say back then was: ” You are so sweet and so altruistic. I think it would be awesome if you can be selfish sometimes and prioritize yourself rather than others.” And I freaked out when I called her phone and nobody answered. So I made probably like 20 calls that disturbed her calls with parents. (Sorry uncle and aunt… I didn’t mean it) I can’s describe how honorable it is to be trusted by another person, and it remains a shining star in the milky way of my memories.

Mr. Coffee and BTS MVs. “We came to study. How did we end up watching these?”

It was wonderful. I mean, harsh but wonderful. Maybe hardships and struggles make the beautiful memories even more precious. I didn’t realized that she has been in my life and changed me in the way that I cannot observe with my naked eyes. I used to not accept K-pop and commented that BTS looks the same. Now my playlist is full of their music and I’ve purchased their CD. This is how significant and meaning she is to me. I begin to try new things that she recommend. I began to think in the way that she suggest. I have another shoulder to lean on, and I have another friend that can lean on my shoulder. It was so wonderful and happened so fast. I began to interact with philosophers that I try to refrain because of my education. I started to allow to my inner voice to express myself and scream about the desire and the despair. I saw an imperfect self. I allow it; I accept it; I embrace it; I show it to her. She is the only pillar that supports my hope and dreams, and pursue my true identity. She sees the real me and tells me it is okay to be vulnerable and flawed. I used to think that I am the only one, and how I know that I will never be alone. I will never walk alone.

I don’t think that these pics can show how much love I receive from her. This is a bag of gifts and letters from her. They lighted up my darkest moments in these two years, and they are indispensable to me, just like her. 💕

There are so many moments that I feel blessed with her. When I am with her, I can deal with everything. I am fearless, aspirational, and ambitious with her love. I am whoever I am and whoever I aim to be. I know that she deserves the best, and I will strive to give her the best. If not the best materials, I will give her the best support and encouragement, and the best of me. You will always get the best of me, and everything will be okay. You will never walk alone. You never have to face the dark alone. You will never shoulder the burden alone. I will be there, be your lighthouse, be your firefly.

The hat story. I am terrible at picking gifts lol.
Swag as usual and omg you really resembles suga!
High fashion is not for me at least haha
You are always so breathtakingly pretty and I can only capture 1% of your charm in my camera~
When I recall my youth, your white dress at the beautiful beach will always be part of it. It does not have a perfect lighting or color, but it has the perfect individual and her smile in it.
And the water was too cold. But we still takes pics 📷
Also not a perfect pic, but we are in couple color! It is meant to be~
I WILL ALWAYS ENVY YOUR HUSBAND! He will never know how lucky and blessed he is to be your significant other! If he dear to 欺负你,我会打死他!!!
My favorite artist and my favorite photographer! So charming and attractive. The world in your eyes and in your lens is the utopia. You are my euphoria.
And this is the real us. Club Doheny Ehhhhhhhhh! But seriously I wish you can sleep safe and sound every night and get back to a regular sleeping schedule. Or do whatever you like as long as it does not cost health haha~
Swag hahahhaa~
How can I forget about us traveling!

There will never be an end to this piece of article, since our serendipity is still going on and our relationship lasts forever. There will always be updates, always be growth, tears, happiness, and everything that words cannot describe. As I wrote earlier, I am a really competitive person and really want to win everything. However, nothing is more honorable and more precious compared to you saying that: “you are my best friend.” This is the gift of life, an honor of life, and something that defines who I really am. I am Sumin’s friend, and Sumin is the light of my life and my future. I will witness her happiness and share her sorrow. I will always be there.

“友之与我,虽有二身,二身之内,其心一而已。”

Now, I am gonna add something to it.

友之与我,虽有二身,二身之内,其心一而已。任我们分隔两地,受困于时差,任我门在生活中沉浮,二身之内,其心一而已。 心一则幸福顺利,长长久久。

Let’s try not to be emotional about being apart. After all, my love is always around you. If you miss me, please look at the moon. When you are looking at it on one side of the world, I am looking at the same moon on the other side. The moon knows people’s wishes and love, and she will connect us together. We are NEVER apart.

You know that we are never apart.

니 손 잡고
지구 반대편까지 가
겨울을 끝내고파

허공을 떠도는 작은 먼지처럼
작은 먼지처럼
날리는 눈이 나라면
조금 더 빨리 네게
닿을 수 있을 텐데

눈꽃이 떨어져요
또 조금씩 멀어져요
보고 싶다 (보고 싶다)
보고 싶다 (보고 싶다)

BTS- Spring Day

Leave a comment